Choose Your Own Adventure Game

Entry #7 12.11.15

In today's class for my game, I made about half of my style sheet. The style sheet is really cool in my opinion but I have to figure out how to center my links because for some reason they wont center. Next week i need to get started on story building. After I finish most of the story, I will thenwork on making my css a ton better. By next week I hope to be done with most of the story but that will involve a lot fo new pages being made.

Entry #6 12.4.15

Today I did a lot on my project. It turned out that I had no idea what i was doing in the past days so i just deleted all of it and started over. Now it is going to be an HTML only game. I am making my game by having a lot of different web pages that you can click on that determines what you do. I think this will make my game a lot easier to code and I can focus on the story of the game which is going to be a lot of fun. My goal for next week is to make a lot more webapges and maybe even upload it to neocities.I also want to make a good style sheet for it.

Entry #5 10.30.2015

Today On google 20, I tried to go onto my game but it did not work. When I opened the game, it simply did not load. So I thought i needed some more proactice on Javascript so I went onto Code academy and continued my lesson. In my lesson, I learned how to do basic math againwith javascript and that may help a little bit. Next week I plan to actually make my game work with a little help from research. I don't really know why it doesnt work because I don't know too much about Javascript but lets hope that changes by next week.

Entry #4 10.23.15

Today for Google 20 I actually started a game. I found a super simple text based game on the internet that I copied and pasted into brackets. I only changed a little bit by asking whuch class the player would like to be. I listed a lot of options but only let the code accept one because I need to work on it more. I tried to have it accept another input for classes but it did not work so I will try to fix that next week. I do think that I have a really good start today though. Next week my goal is to try and get all of the classes into the code and make them a choosable answer for the game. I think that it will be really cool.

Entry #3 10.16.15

Today For Google 20% I wanted to be able to make the page on Brakctes that will actually have my code but I do not have enough time and will do it next friday. I do not have enough time but I will learn a little bit more of Javascript in order to properly create the code for my game. In Javascript I will learn to make decisions and register them into the computer just like the ask function in Scratch. Next week, I will have the page and add some code probably to show a title or something of the sort.

Entry #2 10.9.15

Today during Google 20% I mainly worked on Code Academy learining how to code Javascript. Code Academy is great to learn code and is perfect for teaching me how to code Javascript for my game. Today in Code Academy I learned how to use strings and numbers. Numbers are going to be helpful because I will probably use numbers in my game a lot. The numbers will aslo be used to keep track of how many points or health the character will have. I don't know for sure what I am going to use strings for in my game right now but I will probably end up using them a lot so learining it right now is super helpful. Next Friday I want to make a new file on Backets and actually start making my game. I will do the bare basics but at least I will have a file with a little code on my computer.

Entry #1: Project Goals 10.2.15

Google 20 is where you dedicate 20% of your time working on a project you designed and made yourself. My final product goal is to create a game using Javascript where you can choose your own adventure. In this game, it will be text based but will have a ton of possibilities that you can experience. I hope to create a game that has lots of character classes and decisions you can make. The game will be in a fantasy world where you can choose a class such as thief, warlock, spy, etc and then have that character go around on tasks. You can choose what tasks you want your character to do and where the character goes. The character will encounter monsters along the way, using it's class to benefit it in battle one way or another. Eventually your character will be the most powerful thing in the whole game and you will essentially win. I chose this project because I have some experience in Javascript and love to play these type3s of games. I also really love text based games because they are easy to make and have a ton of possibilities. I hope to learn how to be pretty good at coding in Javascript and knowing how to make a game using code.

I need to know a lot of javascript in order to complete this game. I also need to know how to make a ton of possiblities without creating too much code. I need to know this because my whole game will be written in Javascript. I will need to know how to program possibilities in javascript too. I will learn how to code Javascript by taking a course at codeacademy.com. Codeacademy is really helpful in leanring code and will totally help me program my game. What will be a challenge in making my game is finding code and learning code that goes well with my kind of game. I will need to know code that will let you make choices and such.

Click HERE to return to homepage.